Home About Site map Contacts


Home > Structure > Authority

Authority in St. Petersburg

Saint Petersburg authorities — the system of public authorities and local self-government in Saint Petersburg.

The system of state authorities established after the transition period is defined by the Constitution of the Russian Federation (1993) and various laws of Federal and regional significance. First of all, it should be noted the Charter of St. Petersburg, which was adopted by the Legislative Assembly on January 14, 1998.

Executive authority

The highest official of the city is the Governor, appointed by the Legislative Assembly on the proposal of the President of the Russian Federation for a period of 5 years. Since September 18, 2019, the acting Governor of the city is Alexander Beglov (acting since October 3, 2018). Executive power in the city is exercised by The government, headed by the Governor, and other Executive bodies of state power of St. Petersburg, which make up the system of Executive bodies of state power of the city — the Administration of St. Petersburg. The city government is located in the building of the Smolny Institute. The administration of Saint Petersburg consists of various committees, services, and inspections that report to members of the government of Saint Petersburg. Heads of district administrations of St. Petersburg report directly to the Governor. In total, there are 18 districts in Saint Petersburg.



Legislative power in the city is exercised by the Legislative Assembly, which consists of 50 deputies elected by the residents of the city according to the proportional system for a period of 5 years. In 2011, the Legislative Assembly of the fifth convocation was formed, which includes 6 factions: United Russia (36 seats), Fair Russia (3), the Communist party (3), Yabloko (2 seats; the head of the faction is Boris Vishnevsky), the LDPR (3) and the party of Growth (3). The Chairman of the Legislative Assembly is Vyacheslav Makarov (since December 2011). The legislative Assembly is located in the Mariinsky Palace. To organize and control the execution of the city budget and the expenditure of extra-budgetary funds, the Control and accounting chamber of St. Petersburg is being created.

The city also has Councils of deputies of municipalities that were elected in 2014.


Judicial power is exercised by the Authorized court of St. Petersburg and justices of the peace.

Local government

Local self-government in Saint Petersburg is carried out on the basis of the Federal law "on General principles of local self-government in the Russian Federation" (2003) and the law of Saint Petersburg "on the organization of local self-government in Saint Petersburg" (2009). There are 111 municipalities in Saint Petersburg.

Federal agency

The Plenipotentiary representative of the President of the Russian Federation in the North-Western Federal district is located in Saint Petersburg. Since September 6, 2011, he is Nikolay Vinnichenko. Various regional structures and representative offices of Federal ministries and agencies are also located in the city. In 2008, the highest judicial authority in Russia, the constitutional court of the Russian Federation, moved to Saint Petersburg. The court is located in the building of the Senate and Synod.